Order of Saint Agatha

The Order of Saint Agatha, a State Order established on 5 June, 1923, by the Grand and General Council of the Republic of San Marino.

It is named after Saint Agatha, on whose feast day 5 February, Pope Clement XII re-established the sovereignty of the republic in 1740.

It is an order of merit awarded to foreign nationals who have been positively contributed charitable and other services either for outstanding civil or military services to the Republic, or for humanitarian, artistic, political or sporting accomplishments.  

The Order of Saint Agatha is presented in five grades:

  • Grand Cross 
  • Grand Officer 
  • Commander 
  • Officer 
  • Knight